FIFA Set to Reintroduce World Player of the Year Award and Separate From Ballon d’Or

Lionel Messi and Cristiano Ronaldo – as well as everyone else – are once again set to have TWO individual footballing awards to fight over in the coming years.

That’s because the FIFA Ballon d’Or award is set to be no more, as new President Gianni Infantino wants to reinstate the use of the FIFA World Player of the Year award as football’s governing body’s biggest prize.

It wouldn’t mean the end of the famous Golden Ball, though, as France Football will continue to give out the award from results of exclusive votes by the continent’s leading journalists. There were two awards handed out annually prior to 2010, though the current gong was created in that year when the European and world honours merged.

Mundo Deportivo claim Infantino wants to make the move as one of his first major changes since taking over the role. It would mean that two players – more often than not – can claim themselves as being “the best player in the world”.

Only Messi (four times) and Ronaldo (twice) have won the award since its merger, with each of the two winning it another time each before then.

The Ballon d’Or was created in 1956, but FIFA introduced the second award initially in 1991 to recognised the best player across the globe – as opposed to the Ballon d’Or – which had only taken into account the performances of players plying their trade in Europe. Now, it seems, it’s all change again.

Which award will Ronaldo dream about now?!


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s